Government calendar

To encourage citizen participation in local government, this calendar listing the meeting times and places of public agencies will appear every Monday. To list an event, call the Herald-Star newsroom at (740) 283-4711 or send a fax to (740) 284-7355.


Steubenville Council: 7:30 p.m., council chambers, City Building, 123 S. Third St.

Brooke County Commission: 10:30 a.m., Brooke County Courthouse.

Wayne Township trustees: 6:30 p.m., township garage, county Road 26, Bloomingdale.


Follansbee Building Enforcement Committee: 6 p.m., City Building.

Bethany Town Council: 6 p.m., Bethany Community Center (former fire hall).

Weirton Zoning Board: 7:30 p.m., City Building, Room 201.


Jefferson County Commission: 9 a.m., first floor, county courthouse, 301 Market St., Steubenville.

Knox Township trustees: 6 p.m., 25 township Road 247, Knox Township Administrative Building.

Wintersville Council: 7 p.m., Municipal Complex, 200 Grove St.

Steubenville Historic Landmarks Commission: 7 p.m., council chambers, City Building, 123 S. Third St.

Hancock County Commission: 1:30 p.m., courthouse.

Bloomingdale Council: 7 p.m. , Katie Wood Memorial Building.

Weirton Redevelopment Authority: 5:30 p.m., Room 201 at city building.


Steubenville Civil Service Commission: 9:30 a.m., second-floor conference room, City Annex Building.


Follansbee Council: 6 p.m., council-as-a-whole meeting, City Building.

Steubenville Planning Commission: 7 p.m., council chambers, City Building, 123 S. Third St.

Cross Creek Township trustees: 7:30 p.m., 251 Airport Road, Wintersville.

Jefferson County Landlords Association: 7 p.m., Jefferson Community College.

Smithfield Township trustees: 7 p.m., township park in Piney Fork.

Smithfield Water Board: 7 p.m., City Building.