Weirton hall honors past

The roster of the Weirton Hall of Fame grew by seven names earlier this week when the members of the Class of 2013 were announced.

This year’s honorees include George Canei in the category of sports; Millie Gerbo in the category of education; Emily Horvat in the category of professionals; Tony Sellitti in the category of business and industry; Mary Binkoski Porter and John B. Sorrenti in the category of public service; and Rick Witkowski in the category of music and fine arts.

They will be inducted into the hall during a dinner scheduled for Aug. 4 at the Knights of Columbus in Weirton.

The seven will take their place beside others who have played influential roles in the city’s history, including E.T. Weir, Duke Horstemeyer, Irene Kucan, Robert Kelly, Don Donell, Walter Weiloh and Jimmy Carey.

We thank those who gave countless hours to make the selection of this year’s class of honorees, as well as those who made nominations.

It is always a challenge to make such selections, as there have been so many individuals throughout Weirton’s history who have made significant contributions. We encourage area residents to continue to be involved in the nomination process.

We congratulate members of the Weirton hall’s Class of 2013 and are confident that their contributions will be long remembered.